Is Abortion Legal in Florida?
- Abortions are legal in Florida until the 15th week of pregnancy.
- All abortions must be administered in person by medical doctors.
- The abortion pill can be used until the 10th week of pregnancy (LMP).
This page addresses abortion questions such as:
- Can You Get an Abortion in Florida?
- How Late Can You Get an Abortion in Florida?
- Is Abortion Illegal in Florida?
⚖️ Wondering whether to get an abortion? Take the Abortion Test.
Can You Get an Abortion in Florida?
Florida state legislation has set parameters under which abortion is permitted.
- Abortion is legal in Florida until the 15th week of pregnancy LMP (counting from the first day of the last menstrual period).
- Extensions beyond 15 weeks are made on a case-by-case basis:
- Only medical doctors may perform abortions in Florida.
- A pre-abortion ultrasound is required with the option to see the images.
- Two trips must be made to the abortion clinic: During the first visit, a mandatory counseling session takes place, followed by a 24-hour waiting period. The abortion can only be performed, or the abortion pill dispensed, after this stipulation is met.
- Telehealth Abortions are not available in Florida.
Parental consent is needed for minors pursuing an abortion in Florida.
- A pre-abortion consultation appointment is required in Florida to ensure informed consent. Advice during this mandated informational meeting may include details about the abortion procedure, pain management, fetal development, abortion alternatives, and abortion pill reversal.
- The informed consent regulation has been implemented to protect women from forced abortions and help them make decisions corresponding to their values and intuitions.
ℹ️ For more information, go to Is Abortion Legal?
How Late Can You Get an Abortion in Florida?
Abortion is available in Florida until 15 weeks LMP. The first day of the last menstrual period, aka LMP, is considered the first day of pregnancy.
- The abortion pill can be used until the 10th week of pregnancy (LMP). This time-window is federally mandated for all US states because the risk of complications increases exponentially if used beyond this point.
- Vacuum aspiration is the primary surgical abortion method used until the 16th week of pregnancy.
- 98% of abortions after 16 weeks gestation are performed by dilation and evacuation (D&E). At this point, the fetus has become too large to be suctioned out and would have to be extracted by forceps.
📅 Unsure how far along you are? Use our Pregnancy Tracker to find out!
ℹ️ For more information, go to:
Is Abortion Illegal in Florida?
Abortion is illegal in Florida outside of the legal parameters.
- Anyone performing or actively participating in an abortion that violates the requirements is committing a third-degree felony. The maximum sentence for an illegal abortion is five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
- Self-inducing an abortion without the aid of a medical provider is illegal in Florida. This law was established with the health of women in mind. Most homemade abortion methods carry higher risks, making them unsafe. The concern for the safety of the mother is of the highest priority.
- Could I Force a Miscarriage? — Test
- 🩺 Should I have a fetal defect abortion? Test
- 🛤 Could an abortion affect me long-term? Quiz
ℹ️ For more information, go to:
I Need an Abortion in Florida — Now What?
Hopefully, our page addressed some of your practical questions about abortion in Florida. Perhaps your concerns go beyond the need for information. You may have recently found out you are pregnant, bringing your heart to a standstill while your mind races on.
We are here for you as you navigate your next steps! If you are deliberating whether to have an abortion, you are invited to participate in our weeklong Decision Coaching sessions. This includes a free daily email for seven days, with thought-provoking ideas and stories of how other pregnant women have dealt with this challenging situation.